- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17693Law 11 - Offside 11/5/2007RE: 8 Under 17 Timo of Chula Vista, CA USA asks...I saw a scenario yesterday on which player A of the attacking team passed an air ball to teammate B which was on offside position inside the penalty box (and flagged by the linesman). Player C from the defensive team which was next to player B, intercepted the ball with a kick, but the ball went directly into his own goal. Is the goal valid? or is this a restart by Indirect Free kick since player B was offside. The goal was not valid during the actual game and the coach and players argued that player B did not touched the ball, but he was clearly on offside position and the ball was going towards player B. Please advise. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol The question is whether or not B became involved in play, having been in an offside position at the time A last touched the ball.
The AR seemed to think so, as he raised the flag. Although as you said linesman, I do not know whether you meant this was a neutral assistant referee, assigned to do the game. Or if he was what is called a "club line", someone associated with the team who fills in when an AR is not assigned or does not show up. Club lines in the US are only to call the ball in and out of play, not fouls or offside.
The referee evidently felt that B became involved in play, as he acted on the advice of the AR and disallowed the goal.
The fact that B did not actually touch the ball is not enough evidence to dismiss offside. There are 3 ways of becoming involved in play. The second is interfering with an opponent. Perhaps the referees felt that B's closeness to C prevented C from making a better play on the ball in which the ball would not go in the net. If that is the case, offside is the correct call.
All of this should have been covered in your referee certification class. Please go review the material presented in class, and also Advice to Referees which is available on the USSF website. You might also wish to read the excellent article on offside penned by Ref Fleischer, which can be found on the main page of this site.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 2 things. First, did the referee acknowledge the AR's call, blow the whistle and stop play for offside? If he did then we go to the second thing. Which came first, the offside infraction or the errant kick by the defender? Since offside occurs at the moment the ball is played or touched by a teammate, the offside had to occur first. Play was basically stopped at that point so the goal would be disallowed and restart with an indirect free kick at the spot where the offside player was when the ball was played by his teammate. I'm a little troubled by your statement that the player was in offside position and the ball was played. So what? It's not an offence to be in offside position and unless the player became actively involved in play as described by Ref Voshall, the flag should stay down.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17693
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|