Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17696

Law 5 - The Referee 11/5/2007

RE: USSF 8, NFHS EMSOA Under 12

John Cowles of Bedford, MA USA asks...

In my Boys U-11 team's most recent match, our defender clearly kicked the ball to our keeper. Our keeper had not expected such a play under the circumstances and clearly handled the ball (deliberately touching the ball with his hands) inside the goal area, though in his surprise he muffed the play and never established control of the ball. The referee did not stop play, nor did he make any other indication. As a referee myself, I would have awarded an IDFK to the opposing team from the six-yard line.

After the game, the referee mentioned that he was playing advantage on that particular play. Indeed, as my keeper muffed the "handle", the opponents almost scored.

My questions are:
1. Was "advantage" appropriate here, and if so, shouldn't he have at least motioned to "play on"?
2. What is the point of no return after playing advantage after which the ref should not call the original violation?

While all the coaches and players in the match behaved (i.e. obeyed zero tolerance per our league rules), I still think our opponents were rooked out of an IDFK from close range.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

1) Yes, advantage is appropriate. While he should have signaled and called out "Advantage" or "Play On", sometimes that has the effect of distracting younger players. "The ref said something - what did he say?" and then they stop playing.

2) Advantage is not realized if the team is not able to capitalize on it. But that doesn't mean they get another chance if they blow it themselves. If a player takes a shot and it goes wide, that's too bad for his side. It is called back only if the player is disadvantaged as a consequence of the original foul. The fact that they almost scored says to me that advantage likely had accrued.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi John. The referee handling infractions are part of Law 12 so advantage is appropriate. Since you state they "almost scored" it sounds as if the advantage was realised. Yes. the referee should have signalled advantage but may not have had time to.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

John, remember the reason for the offense known as the deliberate kick back to the keeper comes from the desire of FIFA to prevent unnecessary delays in playing the game. If the kickback, even if deliberate, had the result you noted, a referee could easily decide it was a trifling infraction, or even a doubtful one, because it caused no delay, and he could even have awarded the advantage, announced or not. It is an offense meant to be enforced when necessary, but not one meant to be enforced to the exact letter and period. I don't think your players were trying to delay the game, and I'll bet after the game, you were able to further their education about why that is a bad idea to do during a game. Thanks for the question - interesting!



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17696
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>