Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17699

Law 3 - Number of Players 11/5/2007

RE: Rec Under 14

dan bernert of cincinnati, ohio usa asks...

A goal was scored in a game midway thru the 2nd quarter. After the goal I figured out why we were outmanned the entire quarter. The other team had 12 players on the field. I alerted this to the ref, he counted and yellow carded the coach. He did not take the goal away. I have searched the rules book but cant find a ruling. We are a rec team so the 12th player had been on the field for half of the second quarter since we cannot sub once play starts. My question is should the goal have counted? If not where in the rules book does it state that?

Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 10: "A goal is scored when the whole of the ball passes over the goal line, between the goalposts and under the crossbar, provided that no infringement of the Laws of the Game has been committed previously by the team scoring the goal."

Since they had 12 players, they had infringed the Laws.

You don't say when the ref removed the extra player. If it was after the kickoff, the goal stays on the books. It can only be removed if the referee discovers the Law violation before the next restart, the kickoff.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Dan. Go to ussoccer.com and download the latest ADvice To Referees On The Laws Of The Game. It has a wealth of information including this subject. SHort and sweet, the referee made 2 and probably 3 mistakes. First, you cannot card a coach, second, since he became aware of the 12th player BEFORE he restarted play, he MUST disallow the goal and restart with a goal kick. The fact that there were 12 players leads me to believe this referee did not follow proper substitution procedure as outlined in Law 3. He probably in the interest of time allowed substitutes onto the field before the player they were subbing for had completely left the field. When one does this, you often end up with 12 players and it's the referees fault.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

If you are of a mind to do so, this game could be protested for misapplication of the LOTG. Coaches generally are not very fond of referees who enforce the correct substitution procedures, thinking it robs them of playing time. That is incorrect, because the referee can and should add back time taken away from the game through substitutions. The substitution procedure is strict for the very reason you wrote to us. Without it, a referee can inadvertently allow too many players on the field, and then all heck can break loose and it is the referee's fault. There are other problems with improper subs as well, but too many players is a common one. Sorry you got burned, but a protest could get the game replayed. As my colleagues noted, a referee shouldn't be carding a coach for this problem. Technically, you card the player who last entered the field illegally, but we all know it is almost impossible to identify that player, and in addition, it is the REFEREE TEAM that goofed up, and unfortunately, we can't card ourselves. I would ask a favor - please contact the assignor for this referee and tell him what you told us, or copy him/her these answers. The referee needs to be re-educated, for everyone's sake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

This depends on the league as to who gets the caution. In a USSF match, the caution goes to the extra player. This league may have a different policy on this. Also, in USSF if a goal is scored and the scoring team has too many players, the goal is taken away and the match restarted with an IFK for opponents. I am not sure if this is your league policy or not.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17699
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - Number of Players

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17963

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>