Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17704

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/5/2007

RE: Select Under 13

Chris Comer of Costa Mesa, CA USA asks...

Can the goalie kick a ball from outside the penalty area into the penalty area and then pick it up with his hands?
This happened in a Boys U12 game and the goalie was called for an infraction. However, someone after the game (not the ref) said that it is allowed and the goalie must have picked up the ball before it went inside the penalty area. Can you clarify?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

It depends on where the ball came from when the keeper went outside the penalty area to collect it. If it came from an opponent or was not directly thrown to him or not deliberately kicked to him by a teammate he may dribble the ball back into the penalty area and subsequently handle it. I suspect that the ball was deliberately kicked by a teammate to an area he could collect it and the referee ruled correctly. However, the referee could have made a mistake



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

This all depends on how he came by the ball in the first place. If it was in a manner not prohibited by Law 12 he is free to use his hands.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17704
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>