Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17724

Law 11 - Offside 11/6/2007

RE: Select Under 11

Michael Arkin of New Hyde Park, NY 11040 asks...

If an attacking player received the ball in an onside position gets behind the last defender and turns so that their back is to the goal line and they are behind the ball. She then loses the ball to the defending team, and then gets the ball back from behind the defender is this an offside violation? (Ball was never touched by anyone else on her own team). I did not believe this was an offside voilation, but the referee called it offside and another parent said that the ball was "played by one of his team" (her) while she was in an offside position (her back to the goal line).

Is this the right call?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

No it is not an offside violation. Please refer to the paper on offside on our www.asktheref.com homepage to learn why and to find out more about offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Heavens no! Sometimes referees are so focused on whether an attacking player is closer to the goal than the ball or second to last defender they forget the ball has to be last touched or played by a teammate of the attacker. Big oops.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No! There is no offside offence if ball is received from an opponent that controlled the ball regardless of position.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17724
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>