Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17733

Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/6/2007

RE: rec Adult

the general of seoul, korea korea asks...

Situation: A defender passes back to his goalie and the goalie picks the ball up in his own 18 yard box. Referee blows the whistle and signals an indirect free kick. The forward, grabs the ball quickly, places it and passes to an open player who goes for goal. As soon as the pass was made the ref blew the whistle stating that the forward must wait for the whistle when a foul is commited inside the box. Is this true?

Can a player play the ball quickly inside the box on an indirect free kick or does he have to wait for the whistle? There was no one blocking the ball and 10 yards were not asked for. It seems to me that the forward can play quickly if he sees it to his advantage, though I may be wrong.

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

No, you're right. The referee was mistaken.

Chances are he did not want "contraversey" by allowing the defenders time to get back. That is totally wrong and contraversial in itself.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

As long as the ball was placed (nearly) in the right position, the attacker should be free to take the kick. I recall the USWNT scoring a goal off such a play, while the opposing goalkeeper was still busy arguing the call with the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

You've just witnessed a referee making up his own rules as he goes along. Sorry



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17733
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17792

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>