- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17737Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/7/2007RE: Competitive Adult Scott of Miami, FL USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 13879 If understand that if a player strikes another player he is issued a red card, and then play restarts with direct free kick, but where is the kick taken? The rules say that the kick is taken from where the ball is, but I was taught (in my youth) that the kick is from the point of infraction. Which is correct? Other officials have told me that it depends if the players involved were in the play, but I don't really see how anyone can be involved in the play if he is striking an opponent. If the ball is at one end and the incident occurs at the other end, where do you restart the game from? Also is the official stopping the game in order to give a card, which is an IFK or stopping the game for a player striking another player, which is a DFK? Is it all interpretation? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney The point of infraction will be the site of the free kick - where did you read rules saying it was from the spot of the ball? What kind of free kick depends on who struck who. For instance, a defender is furious at a teammate who botched a clear and the defender hauls off and socks his teammate in the jaw. That's not a direct free kick offense because it didn't involve an opponent. But it is misconduct, violent conduct, and the defender will be sent off. The indirect free kick for the opponent will be taken from where he struck his teammate, unless the special circumstances in Law 8 apply. If, on the other hand, a defender strikes an opponent in his own penalty area, no matter where the ball is, the restart will be a penalty kick against the defender's team and a send-off for the defender for VC. If it was the attacking opponent who struck the defender, we still send off for VC, but the kick is now direct. Putting the kick where the ball was when play stops has to do with unauthorized persons entering the field, and a few other not so common offenses.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Where does it say the restart is from where the ball is? Are you talking about the FOUL of striking that escalates to a sending off or are you referring to MISCONDUCT? Only if this occurs OFF the field would the restart be from where the ball is.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17737
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|