Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17738

Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/7/2007

RE: Adult

Chris of Worcester, England asks...

A player stops in his run-up to take a penalty, at the same time one of the defending team's players enters the D on the edge of the penalty area as a result of the delayed run-up.

The penalty is saved.

Does the referee order the panalty to be retaken due to the defender encroaching bearing in mind the taker has stopped in his run-up?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Yes, the kick should be retaken, assuming in the referee's opinion both players had infringed the requirements of Law 14. If the referee felt the attacker's stop was unsporting behavior, he can caution the attacker and the restart would be an indirect free kick for the defense (assuming the encroachment of the defender was considered trifling or doubtful). The referee can also choose to warn the kicker to proceed properly and signal again for the restart (which has the same effect as retaking the penalty kick). By trifling, I meant the defender's action had no effect on the kick at all - say for instance he was behind the kicker and out of his field of vision, and the defender was only a step into the penalty area. Any of these scenarios is a possibility, depending on the conditions in the game, and ultimately, the referee's opinion on the matter - that's final.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Excellent answer by Ref Maloney. I think she covered everything!



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17738
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>