Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17758

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/7/2007

RE: Junior Adult

Ameez of Male, Maafaanu Maldives asks...

What will be the restart for
If a player (an opponent) who deliberately leaves the field of play from near the goal while an attacker moving towards the goal with an obvious goal scoring opportunity was prevented by throwing his shoes and hit the attacker.

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Ameez,

The restart would be a penalty kick, which would take place after the defender was sent-off and shown the red card for violent conduct (the thrown object is considered the same as that players hand and this is a form of striking.) The referee's report should also include the fact that the striking also prevented an obvious goal scoring opportunity. However, the primary reason reported to the authorities should be violent conduct as it is punished more severly.

The restart is taken from the spot of the infraction, which in this case was on the field of play, within the defender's own penalty area. Striking is a direct free kick offense, and when that's all put together what you've got is a penalty kick and a red card.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Of course Ref Montanino's response is true when the impact of the thrown object is within the penalty area, otherwise we'll just have a direct free kick and what ever discipline the referee feels needed for striking and what the striking prevented.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Let me just clarify, if the contact of the striking occurs outside of the penalty area but elsewhere on the field of play, then it's simply a direct free kick.

If the contact occured inside the penalty area (foul committed by a defender, inside his own penalty area) then it is indeed a penalty kick, which is how I originally read your question.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17758
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>