Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17774

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/8/2007

RE: Adult

Danny McGrail of Wirral, England asks...

Can a referee give an indirect free kick for dissent?

Also can he/she then move the free kick forward by 10 yards for further dissent?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Yes, a referee can give an indirect free kick for dissent, if that was the reason play was stopped. One assumes a caution was also shown. As for the moving it an extra 10 yards, I'm told it was an experiment on the Isle of Whyte, which while it worked well, has not translated well into the general soccer world. Ref Voshol directed me to a site that has a short and concise history - very interesting that: http://www.carosi.freeserve.co.uk/corshamreferee/tenyards.htm



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Well, yes in a way. The referee gives an indirect free kick if they have to stop play for a misconduct. Dissent is a misconduct, being a cautionable offense. If the dissenting player has been yacking at the referee all game long and the referee has decided they've had enough, they can stop play, caution the player and show the yellow card. The restart, but the LOTG, must be an indirect free kick to the opposing team at the point of the infraction (the misconduct). As to moving the placement for the restart, I'm not really sure why he did that. It's possible that the place for the restart was where the misconduct occurred and there is simply an assumption that the reason for moving the ball was because of "further dissent" when in fact it could have been the correct place all along. I really don't know, not having been there. But just thoughts to think.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

There may have been other locales in England where this was tested. It appeared in annual IFAB memoranda for 2 or 3 years with "continued testing", and then was dropped as a consideration for a Law change worldwide. As I recall it was tweaked a couple times regarding the angle of the 10 yard advancement - direct to goal or perpendicular to the goal line - and as to what happened if 10 yards took you into the penalty area. It must have been decided that the additional 10 yard penalty did not have enough effect on curbing dissent.

As is usually the case, there are some referees who are late to the party, and slow to realize that Laws have changed or that an experiment has ended. Or knowing that it was an experiment at all.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17774
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>