Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17793

Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/9/2007

RE: REC Under 11

Marty Ammtz of North Royaton, Ohio USA asks...

Rule 13: Free Kicks: The rule that states "ball is in play when it is kicked and moves" appears to be vague. What constitutes "moves." Does the ball have to leave the exact spot of placement before the second touch occurs? If just tapping it does not make the ball appear to vacate the exact spot it was sitting on prior to the tap, does that tapping satisfy the "ball is in play" requirement? If it does, then it would appear that the word "moves" is superfluous.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Moves means it goes from here to there. The ref must be able to discern the displacement. Simply tapping the ball so it vibrates, while satisfying a theoretical definition of movement, does not suffice to put it into play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Well, it is sort of vague. So the answer is - the ball moves when the referee believes it has and not before. We know that tapping the top of the ball isn't moving the ball. However, a very small kicking motion that moves the ball from "point A" to "point B" will constitute enough movement.

However, it is not the players or coaches that matter in this regard, it is solely the referee who decides whether or not it is in play. So if he doesn't think it was in, it wasn't.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Marty, think of the word "kicked" and you'll see why a tap is insufficient to be considered a kick. There must be a kicking motion made with the foot, and the ball must move a discernible distance, even if it is a small distance. Beats the heck out of the old "circumference of the ball." Oh, dear, I think that dates me!



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Marty tapped and wiggled does not equal kicked and moves. However some referees are not cognizant of this fact, they have not read the US Soccer policy on the matter that is contained in Advice to Referees on the Laws of the Game paragraph 13.5.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Kicked and moves means that the ball must travel from position A to be position B. Simply stomping or dragging the ball does not constitute a kick and does not suffice for putting the ball into play. This is something that a lot of referees do not understand.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17793
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>