Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17874

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/12/2007

RE: All Youth Levels Under 19

Steve of Vero Beach, FL USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17792

Not impugning the reputation of a fellow ref [17792], but rather trying to gain better understanding to improve my game from those much more experienced than I am.

Something not mentioned in either William's comment or your response. It sounds like the GK retreated to the goal with the ball in hand after the whistle blew. So much so, that the attacker had to chase him down and take the ball from him.

Was/could/should the GK be cautioned for delaying the restart? Whether he understood the "new" law or not, he doesn't seem to have complied with the referee's directive.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You are correct, the keeper could have been cautioned if the ref felt it was deserved. In the Additional Instructions found in the FIFA version of the Laws of the Game (but not printed in the US edition) we find that the referee may caution a player for delaying the restart by "provoking a confrontation by deliberately touching the ball after the referee has stopped play." If the keeper had tried to prevent the opponent from grabbing the ball for the restart, most likely there would have been a confrontation. Whether or not simply holding onto the ball that had been kicked to him was cautionable is up to the referee to decide.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17874
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 18174

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>