Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17899

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/12/2007

RE: Rec/Select Under 13

George Fenimore of Del Rio, TX USA asks...

Defender/sweeper on his six yard line intentionally clears the ball back towards his own goal line. The ball will miss the near post by 3 feet to become a corner kick. His goalkeeper dives and using his hands prevents the ball from crossing the goal line and gathers and controls the ball in his hands.

As referee I conclude the intent of the sweeper was to intentionally clear the ball to create a corner kick. It was not his intent to kick it to the goalie.

The Laws of the Game, Law 12 states: An indirect free kick will be awarded if a goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate.

My analysis:
1. The ball was deliberately kicked by the sweeper whose sole intent was to clear the ball.
2. The defending team gained an advantage by the sweeper's controlled, deliberate play which was intercepted by the keeper with his hands.

My decision:
I awarded an indirect free kick to the attacking team deep in the attacking zone.

Was I correct?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

If in your opinion you felt the ball was deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper and he picked it up then you were right to call it. If you felt he didn't deliberately kick the ball to the goalkeeper then you were wrong to call it.

Those are the only questions to ask yourself, forget the bit about advantage.

Ask yourself those questions and you will find the answer within.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

George, and when you're asking yourself the questions (good ones!) posed by Ref Montanino, also remind yourself why the deliberate kick to the keeper is not allowed. It is to prevent time wasting. If you don't think it was a deliberate kick to a place where the keeper could pick it up, and if you don't think the defenders intended to waste any time, then don't waste any time thinking about it - let play continue. The great thing about such situations is it helps us clarify WHY we are supposed to call something, and then we ask questions, and then the next time we are confronted with a similar situation, we can act from a more informed base. Cheers!



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If I understand you correctly you felt the player was trying to put the ball out of play NOT kick it to his keeper. Why did you then award an IDFK to the opponents? re-read what Ref Maloney has to say. There's a mistaken belief among referees that anytime a player touches the ball with his foot and it goes anywhere near the keeper, the keeper may not handle it. From what you describe I don't see how this could be a deliberate kick to the keeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Hi George,
Let me first start by saying that in your question, you give your own answer. You wrote: "As referee I conclude the intent of the sweeper was to intentionally clear the ball to create a corner kick. It was not his intent to kick it to the goalie." And then quoted the Law book (which is good): "The Laws of the Game, Law 12 states: An indirect free kick will be awarded if a goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate." Where you got into trouble was over analyzing it. To break it down: 1) you did not believe that the kick by the defender was a deliberate kick to the goal keeper. 2)Because you held that belief the rest falls into place. There has been no infringement. 3)Therefore you should not have stopped play in that instance and should not have awarded an IFK to the opponent. 4)The use of the Advantage Clause is not applicable here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

George, us smart folks have one thing going against us, we think. We analyze, we deduce, we apply, and all the other stuff going along with "When your up to your arse in alligators it is difficult to remember your initial objective was to drain the swamp".

There it is, you KNOW what happened and KNOW what the Law says about that. Cool. Swamp drained, next problem. Then the dreaded thinking takes place and it all goes to hell in a hand basket. Happens to me all the time, say one thing too much, write that extra paragraph, look a second time at a coach who insists he is right -- you know the drill. But we just can't stop the thought process once it starts.

You had the answer then the ugly words gained advantage crept in under the overcast of proper thinking.

Let's talk about history. The ball was kicked in desperation to accomplish the anywhere but here needs of a defender. It was going for corner and that was anywhere but here. You knew it. That is an historical fact. Done deal. Now our hapless keeper reacts and makes the save. The "Holy Crap" light illuminates and thinking resumes. We change history by saying "He can't do that". We blow...

Can we really change history like that? Aha moment. And that's the answer to all us over thinking folks.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17899
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>