- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17908Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/13/2007RE: Competitive Under 9 Marc Williamson of Newtown, PA USA asks...What is the rule on a thown back to your own goalie. I was under the impression that you can throw to the goalie and the goalie CAN use their hands.
I instructed my player to do so and the referee called it a handball and gave a direct kick.
Can you tell me if that is correct or not. I thought throw-ins to your own goalie were still ok?
Please let me know
Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino You would be incorrect. Law 12 clearly states that the keeper may not legally handle the ball if it's thrown directly to him by a teammate. The ball has to touch someone else first. If the handling occurs OUTSIDE of the keeper's own penalty area it's a direct free kick. I hope that's what happened because any referee should know that any keeper handling violation INSIDE his own penalty area must ALWAYS< EVERYTIME result in an Indirect free kick for the opponents. If the handling occurred inside the penalty area and this referee gave a direct free kick he's doubly clueless. You cannot award DFK's to the attacking team inside the penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol I certainly hope that if the goalkeeper was inside the penalty area, the referee gave an indirect free kick.
The goalkeeper has been prohibited from handling a ball thrown directly to her for about a decade now. It was put into the Laws either as part of the 1997 Great Rewrite or the following year.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17908
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|