Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17909

Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/13/2007

RE: rec Under 15

mark of wellingborough, England asks...

If a team kicks the ball directly into its own goal from an Direct Free Kick taken from outside the team's penalty area. is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

No. A team can't score against themselves directly on a restart. It will be a corner kick restart, here. Ball left the field over the goal line last touched by the defending team. Quoting Law 13: "if a direct free kick is kicked directly into the team's own goal, a corner kick is awarded to the opposing team".



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

When looking at the description of a direct free kick in the 1936/7 version of Law XIII we find a goal may be scored direct but only against the offending side. In the 1997 Laws the description became much more complex:

The Direct Free Kick

if a direct free kick is kicked directly into the opponents? goal, a
goal is awarded

if a direct free kick is kicked directly into the team?s own goal, a
corner kick is awarded to the opposing team.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No. A goal may be scored directly but only against the team that committed the foul. If kicked into own goal it's a corner kick for the opponents



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No. The restart is a corner kick. You cannot score directly on yourself on a free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17909
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>