- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17910Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/14/2007RE: Competitive Under 14 murph of Willsboro, New York U.S.A. asks...Team blue is awarded a penalty shot, as the blue player is taking the kick, a player from team red, deliberately pushes a team blue player into the penalty box... the goaltender stops the PK, the official allows play to continue. When play is stopped, he issues a yellow card to the red player who pushed the blue player into the penalty box. Should the referee not have re-taken the penalty shot for the foul that was committed during the penalty shot?
Thanks
Murph Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol We have a critical issue of timing here. You say "as the blue player is taking the kick" a red player pushed a blue. Was the push before or after the kick?
If after, then the ref is allowed to let the blue keeper continue with play using the advantage clause. The caution was correctly given at the next stoppage.
Now what if the push took place before the PK? The pusher did not violate Law 14 with the push, but rather committed an act of misconduct while the ball was out of play. Since the ref allowed the restart - the PK - to take place, the timeframe for showing a card has passed.
Advice to Referees has this section: [quote] 14.11 OTHER VIOLATIONS AT A PENALTY KICK Although the referee is expected to allow a penalty kick to proceed despite a violation of Law 14 (see Advice 14.9), this is not the case if a player violates some other Law before the ball is put into play. Specifically, if a player commits violent misconduct before the penalty kick occurs (e.g., striking an opponent), the referee must stop further action, send off the offending player, and restart the penalty kick from the beginning. [endquote]
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney The 2007 Advice to Referees 14.9 says any violations of the Laws prior to the referee's signal are treated as dead ball violations - and if this was the case here, the penalty kick would be halted, the misconduct dealt with appropriate to the action, and the PK procedure restarted. If the violation takes place after the referee's signal but before the kick, then what happens to the kick determines whether we retake or give an indirect free kick to the defense. Since in this case, it was a defender who did the dirty deed, the restart will be a retake of the PK after the caution (if one is deemed appropriate), assuming the violation/pushing took place between the signal and the kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino The kick is in progress when the infringement occurs. The referee allows the kick to proceed. If the goal scores continue play. If the goal does not score, give a retake. In this case a retake.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Pushing is foul play when the ball is in play, it happens on the field, is against an opponent and is committed by a player. Here the ball is not in play. The push then becomes misconduct.
In the case of a player running up to take his penalty the referee must either deal with this violation of the Laws of the Game instantly or allow the penalty to be completed. Here he did just that. What he did next is not in accordance with Law 14. A player opposing the penalty violated the Laws of the Game and Law 14 is specific, the kick is retaken. The referee is trying to be fair failed in his first duty: "enforces the Laws of the Game".
I tend to believe because the referee allowed the restart of play and subsequent play after the saved penalty he has lost his chance to administer discipline. Again, the applicable Law is Law 5, bullet #13. This tells the referee he may allow things to continue after foul play and/or misconduct happens whilst the ball is in play. In your case the ball was NOT in play when the violation of Law 12 happened. The answer is either prevent the restart of play and deal with the breach of discipline OR do nothing about the breach and hope there is no retaliation later in the match. Hoping bad things don't happen is always going to bite you in the arse sooner or later. Dealing with misconduct will always slow things down a bit and allow calmer heads to prevail.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17910
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|