- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17915Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/14/2007RE: ANY Under 19 Zach Pendt of Bremerton, WA USA asks...A shot is taken by team A. It is a high shot that might be going over the cross bar but nobody can tell including Team B's goalkeeper. Because of this, team B's goalkeeper jumps up, grabs the crossbar and pulls it down to block the ball. What do you do? Is there anywhere in the Advice to Referees or Laws of the game or somewhere else that I can find the "by the book" anwser??? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Zach here is the best I can do for you regarding a "by the book" answer.
"Soccer Judge" by Stanley F. Lover copyright 1980 was released as an official publication of USSF titled "The Illustrated Soccer Quiz Book" in 1983. Library of Congress 82-62696.
In that book appears question 29. The ball is entering the goal but the goalkeeper pulls the crossbar down so that the ball sails over it. What is the correct action?
A goal cannot be allowed but the goalkeeper should be cautioned for ungentlemanly conduct and an indirect free-kick awarded to the opponents.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Gil Weber I respectfully disagree with and update the circa 1983 answer cited by referee Fleischer. Under the current application of the Laws any player, GK or field player, who pulls down the crossbar and prevents what the referee feels would have been a goal should be sent off for DOGSO (SO5 -- committing an offense punishable by a free kick). Once the crossbar is replaced the game is restarted with an IFK to the opponents from the six yard line. There was no foul punishable by a DFK, so no PK can result.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gil Weber
View Referee Gil Weber profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino The "by the book" answer you seek can be found at the official USSF Q&A site March 2007. The keeper is cautioned for unsporting behavior and sent off for denying a goal scoring opportunity by committing an offence punishable by a free kick (SO5). Were the player that did this an outfield player he would likewise be sent off for denying a goalscoring opportunity but this time for denying a goal by deliberately handling the ball(SO4). The crossbar is an extension of the player's hand. The crossbar is also the extension of the keeper's hand but the keeper may not be sent off for deliberately handling the ball inside his own penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee MrRef As of 26 Nov 2007 this is US Soccer's official word on the subject. Pulling down the crossbar is unsporting and therefore a cautionable offence. Once that is established by cautioning the player and showing him the yellow card the restart of play, an indirect free kick, is established. At that point in time the unsporting player who has committed an offence punishable by a free kick is sent-off for denying a goal or a goal scoring opportunity by an offence punishable by a free kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef
View Referee MrRef profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17915
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 17935
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|