Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17918

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/15/2007

RE: Girls JV High School

Steve of Vero Beach, FL USA asks...

I think I got this one right by the letter of Law 12 and Rule 12-7-3, but I may have blown on the spirit of the game. Your advise would be greatly appreciated.

Ball is played into the PA by the attacking team. Defender traps and controls the ball at her feet. She is about 10yrds out from near goal post and the attackers are advancing from around 15 yrds away. She plays the ball back toward the goal line just outside of the GA. The GK easily retrieves the ball by scooping it up in her arms before it gets to the the Goal Line with 2 attackers within 10 yrds.

I whistled the GK for handling a ball passed to her from her teammate and awarded an idfk from the spot where she picked up the ball.

The coach politely asked for a clarification of the call at half time and I told her the following, which she accepted:

1.) Ball was played back toward the GK to an area where she could easily retrieve it. The ball was not cleared in a hurried boot of the ball.

2.) GK chose to handle the ball eventhough she had the option to use her feet as there was no immediate pressure.

3.) The Varsity Coach, sitting in the stands, screamed out "Don't pick up that ball!" (least important but even he got it).

I understand also that the this was outlawed to stop time wasting. This was clearly an attempt to play the ball safely out of danger - not an attempt to waste time.

Did I make the right interpretation here? Or should I have swallowed the whistle and told the attackers (who would have complained if I hadn't called the infraction)to just play?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The teammate deliberately kicked the ball to an area where the keeper could go get it. Yes, we spend a lot of time reminding people about time wasting but even without obvious time wasting this is an infraction. As you rightly state, this was not a miskick and the keeper clearly chose to play the ball with her hands. Hey, even the coach got it right!. Only question I have is location of restart. If inside the goal area the ball should come out to the six yard line



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

From your description, I would agree also, that this is a good call....Well done!



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Steve, your call seems spot on. Part of the problem we face from time to time with this particular infraction is the level of knowledge/ignorance of the players. If the coach was cognizant enough of the issue, then his players most likely are as well, so in this instance, I find nothing to quibble about based on your description of the facts - which is final, after all! I am glad you think to question your call, and to cite the reasons it might have gone a different way. No matter how well we know the letter of the Laws, sometimes it is our gut feeling (albeit an educated gut feeling) that helps us figure out the right answers. And even if it isn't totally correct, we've thought about it, which will make us a better referee next time. Oh, and I'll bet that keeper learned something as well - and that was worth the price of the call! Two points for you!



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Looks like you made the correct call. I have no problem with this call and do not think that you blew it within the spirit of the game. This seems like a clear violation of Law 12.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17918
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17972

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>