- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17926Law 11 - Offside 11/15/2007RE: Select Under 14 Doug Warren of Lake Stevens , WA USA asks...Free kick is taken from about 40 yards out. Ball is played into penalty area and defender plays ball out, but it is intercepted by attacker that is in offside position who scores. FIFA laws clearly state that it is offside if the ball was deflected from defender. What if it was a controlled pass out of bounds?
I have a protest going on with this call. I believe it was deflected, but the ref says it was a controlled pass. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Doug, it is a coincidence that my colleagues and I discussed this very concept in a video of a Russian premier league match within the last few weeks only to see this question passed onto our panel for an answer. I will tell you I believe your protest will not stand, for as a fact of play the referee's decision will stand. The ball was last touched/played by the attacker.
I will also tell you straight up I tend to agree with you. In MY OPINION only I have a difficult time in not finding an offside positioned attacker who intercepts a first time played ball not guilty of offside by definition of gaining an advantage.
Below is an explanation courtesy of your own USSF! Note the very last sentence as a *rule*. It is sure to create a few wrinkled brows!
Deflections by any opposing player do not affect the status of a player in an offside position; the attacking team's player must be called offside if he or she becomes involved in play (as defined in Law 11). Unsuccessfully "making a play" for the ball does not establish possession. Nor, for that matter, does successfully "making a play" for the ball if it then deflects to the player in the offside position who becomes involved in play.
Note that there are differences here between "being involved in play," "playing the ball," and "making a play" for the ball. (As noted above, see Law 11 for involvement in play.) "Playing the ball" in these circumstances means that the defender (in this case the goalkeeper) possessed and controlled the ball. However, if the defender possessed and controlled the ball badly, it's still "making a play," but if it wasn't possessed and controlled, it wasn't played in the sense you suggested in your scenario.
A rule: Being able to use the ball subsequent to contact equals possession; deflection is not possession. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17926
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|