- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17944Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/18/2007RE: High School Andy Yakubik of St. John, IN USA asks...A goalkeeper controls the ball with his feet outside of the penalty area after it was defleted by a defender. Can he then dribble into the box and pick it up with his hands? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Usually the keeper may do this. Unless the deflection was deliberate and it was with the team mates foot and it was deflected to a place where no one but the keeper could play it.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney The question here is whether or not the ball was deflected, and that, Andy, will be in the opinion of the referee. If the opinion is yes, it is a deflection, then the keeper may pick it up. If the decision is it was a deliberate kick by the defender to a place where the keeper could reach it (even if outside of the penalty area) then the keeper picks it up at his peril - it would be an indirect free kick from the spot where he picks it up, unless in the goal area (special circumstances).
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17944
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|