Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17945

Law 15 - Throw In 11/18/2007

RE: Recreation Under 17

Ryan Budd of Littlehampton, Sussex England asks...

Is it actually possible to score from a throw-in?

If a throw is delivered into the opposition's 6-yard box, takes a slight brush off a defender, and then goes in, whose goal is this?

Surely it should go down as a goal to the throw-in taker?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

It is impossible to score a goal directly from a throw-in. In the case you relate the ball doesn't come directly from throw-in, it comes from another player and thence into the goal. This is counted as a goal for the side restarting play with a throw-in. Now, over to the dubious goals committee for determination if credit for the goal is to the thrower or defender who by his intervention prevented his side from winning a goal kick.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

A throw-in is like an indirect free kick in the sense that like the IDFK, it must touch another player before entering the goal in order for it to be a goal kick. The key is whether the referee team sees the 'brush off a defender' because if they don't the restart is a goal kick. If they do, goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

That would have to be considered an own goal in my book. As it requires the intervention of the defender to actually count.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No directly. The ball has to touch a player before it enters the goal from a throw-in. It did in your case. Goal!



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The ball must touch another player before going in. In your case...it is a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17945
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>