Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17947

Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/18/2007

RE: rec Under 11

Charlie Reilly of Hawthorne, NJ usa asks...

The attacking team was given an indirect free kick from about 25 yards from goal. The player taking the kick shot it on goal. The defending team's goalie attempted to stop the shot but it hit his hands and went into the goal. The Referee disallowed the goal. The explanation from one of the other parent's was that it did not touch a second attacking team player before going into goal. Should the referee disallow the goal?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The goal should have counted. An indirect kick must touch any player - from either team - before a goal can be scored. Since the goalkeeper is a player, the goal should have counted.

This is probably a newer referee who is still unclear on some of the concepts of the Laws. Please report him to the local ref authorities so he may get the additional instructions he needs to become a better ref. If you don't know who that is, your club administration should know.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Ah, another myth is born. Parental explanations are seldom based on intimate knowledge of the Laws of the Game. Thanks for asking to get the real scoop on this one. The referee was wrong, he took a valid goal! The reason is as Ref Voshol states. Corrective action needs to be taken for the referee, he needs to reread Law 13 and remember it this time. Corrective action also needs to be taken for the overly knowledgeable parent as well...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Ahhh. Gotta love it when referees and parents make up their own rules/ The ball must touch ANY OTHER PLAYER after first kicked on an indirect free kick. Last I check, the keeper qualified as any other player. This goal should have counted. What's more, it's such an obvious misapplication of the laws, it's grounds for protest. This referee needs an assessment asap.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17947
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>