- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17965Law 11 - Offside 11/20/2007RE: Adult paul cowlishaw of mexborough, uk asks...If an attacking player is one on one with a goal keeper with no defenders in sight and he rolls the ball backwards to a fellow player across from him (but behind) and this player taps the ball into the empty net. Is this offside? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If a player is behind the ball, he is not in an offside position. So assuming your "(but behind)" description indicates his position at the time the ball is rolled to him by the teammate, there is no offside position and consequently there cannot be an offside infringment.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino No Paul it's not. You're remembering the next to last defender part of offside position but forgetting about the BALL. It doesn't matter how many opponents an attacker has passed, if he's even with or behind (as in this case) the ball he can NEVER be in offside position. This is a good play and a valid goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer If the ball comes from a someplace between the goal line and the player after having been touched or played by a team mate there can be no offside offence because there has been no offside position established.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17965
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|