Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17967

League Specific 11/20/2007

RE: Competitive (USSF Grade 8) Under 17

James Handsfield of Atlanta, GA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17877

Not so much a question but an observation [of 17877]. A couple of the responses mentioned this situation being protestable because of an incorrect restart. In normal play that is correct, but this situation is in tournament play. Most rules of competition for youth tournaments specify no protests because there generally is no time to adjudicate a protest, so that is moot under the circumstances reported. I will hedge a little by admitting that I do not know the AYSO approach to this issue.

In any case, the referee either needs some training or retraining, or needs to get a little more self confidence to make her/his own judgments and not rely on unauthorized help.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

You are correct. Every tournament I've worked has had a no protests allowed rule and that does take precedence.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Sometimes a protest IS allowed, but it is pricey - $200 and if you lose you forfeit the cash - no checks.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Regardless of whether the rules of a competition allow a protest, the fact remains that there was a misapplication of the Laws of the Game. It might have seriously affected the results of the game.

Only a misapplication of the Laws is protestable; referee judgments, no matter how poor they may be, are not protestable.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17967
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>