- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17974Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/20/2007RE: High School Mike Ruhnke of Carroll, Iowa United States asks... Team A has a corner Kick. Ball is kicked and goalie catches ball. During kick a player from team B pushes down another player from team A away from play. What is correct ruling for restart? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol As a referee you should know that if the pushing took place after the kick was taken, it is a foul. The restart is a direct free kick, or a penalty kick if it happened in the penalty area. Consider a caution for unsporting behavior or even a send-off for severe foul play, depending on the intensity of the push.
If the push occurred before the corner kick was taken, it can only be misconduct. After dealing with the player, the restart remains the corner kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Timing is everything. When did the push occur? Before the kick was taken? Misconduct only, and corner kick restart (since the ball was not yet in play). After the ball is kicked, it will be 1) DFK restart if not in the PA; 2) PK if in the PA; 3) trifling if the push is not significantly upsetting to the player pushed and or doubtful if it does not materially interfere with play. However, chances for #3 go down when the GK catches the ball - you have to be there to judge based on the match, the players, and the multitude of other factors that enter into such judgment calls.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino Technically a push would result in a direct free kick or penalty kick (if push was inside penalty area). However, whether or not you should call this foul is another question and only you can answer that based on what you've seen and its impact on play - see Ref Maloney's good answer for a little more detail.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17974
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|