- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17981Law 11 - Offside 11/22/2007Bill Sayre of Greenwood, SC USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 17920 RE: 17920
I have a follow up question regarding a player in an offside position following the ball downfield. When a defender does take possession, at what point could the attacker turn and challenge for the ball?
It would seem unfair for the attacker to immediately challenge, even if the defender has control of the ball at that moment, since the defender would otherwise have time and space to play forward if the attacker were not close by. Is this a "rule of thumb", or is there any ATR or other source of guidance?
Thanks for the advice, and happy holidays! Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer An immediate challenge is unfair! US Soccer has offered this for referees to think about regarding offside players getting involved: playing the ball doesn't necessarily establish control sufficient to allow an offside player to get involved. What they have said: control is established when the player is able to play the ball again. So if an offside opponent is close enough to interfere with the process of establishing control he has interfered with the opponent in the sense Law 11 prohibits.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17981
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|