- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 18002Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/26/2007RE: Under 10B1 Under 11 Declan Byrne of Dublin, Ireland asks...Hello,
Can you tell me what the punishment should be in an U10s match if the following happens?
The opposition have a shot at goal and score but a player on the defending team handles the ball deliberately, but the ball has already crossed the line and the goal is given.
Should the player be sent off?
Thanks.
Declan.
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Ask yourself, has the player denied an obvious goal? If the goal was scored, it wasn't denied was it? No send off.
For the older ages, a caution is appropriate if a player attempts to deny a goal but fails in the attempt. In this particular case, I'm not sure whether you mean the handling occured after the ball was fully over the line, or if the handling was first but was ineffectual at keeping the ball out of the net.
For U10s, you might be better off talking to the player and reminding him that if the ball hadn't gone into the goal, he'd be taking an early bath.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer So we have a player deliberately handling the ball after it has crossed the goal line for a goal. This is not at all like a player deliberately handling the ball to collect it for a throw-in, goal kick or corner kick, is it? Digging the ball out of the net with your hand[s] after a goal has been taken by your opponents is how to get it out of the net. And you want to punish it? Not hardly sir...
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson If the ball had COMPLETELY crossed the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts with no infringment by the team scoring the goal. The application of the hand on the ball occurs AFTER the ball is out of play into touch. There is no punishmen,t there is no foul and no misconduct. It is what it is, a goal with a kick off following to restart! If the deliberate handling were to occur just prior to th ball crossing the goal line, as an attempt to stop the goal and the ball still deflectes off the hands and in, the restart remains a kick off, the goal counts and the referee could caution and show a yellow card to the player for the USB of trying to stop the goal! This assumes the referee refrains from whistling play dead until AFTER the ball is into the back of the goal! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18002
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|