Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 18004

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/26/2007

RE: rec Other

Brad of Ellicott City, MD USA asks...

If the keeper has the ball w/ only one finger on it and the ball is on the ground does he/she have possession

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the ball is pinned between the keeper's hand and the ground by as little as one finger, she has possession. Notice we didn't say the ball brushed against her pinky; rather she pinned it to the ground.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Brad, re-read Decision 2, Law 12 in the LOTG. And remember to take into account the ages and skills of the players with any decisions involving goalkeepers and safety. The younger and less skilled they are, the sooner we intervene for safety's sake. If a goalkeeper has some part of their hand or arm touching the ball, then the ball is out of play for all other players until the goalkeeper releases it back into play, or until 6 seconds are up, whichever comes first. So, if a goalkeeper is lying on the ground and has his hand curled around the ball, he is in possession, and no one may challenge him for the ball. The same is true if he has reached for the ball and has succeeded in getting a finger on it. Anyone who does will be charged with an IDFK at the least and stands to possibly receive a caution for UB, depending on the referee's opinion of what has transpired.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18004
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>