- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 18009Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/27/2007RE: Competitive Under 14 Jay of Santa Cruz, CA US asks...This question is a follow up to question 17960 If attacker and keeper are going for a loose ball on the ground and the keeper gets his hand on top of it just before it is kicked by the attacker what is the correct call? Assuming the contact with the ball was inevitable due to the momemtum of the attacker's foot while he was attempting to play a loose ball. It seems to me it should be no goal. (but lots of yelling from the sidelines) The attacker will claim it was a fair play for the ball so there should be no foul.
Thanks,
Jay Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino If the keeper has a hand pinning the ball against the ground. Without having seen this play myself, based on your description, I feel the goal should not be given and an indirect free kick should be awarded to the goalkeeper's team. The opponent had prevented the keeper from releasing the ball into play, an indirect free kick offense.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I'm assuming the keeper has stretched out his hand and pinned the ball to the ground. This constitutes control. The ball is in the keeper's possession and he may not be challenged. The goal should be waved off and an IFK awarded to the keeper's team unless the referee believes the opponent was guilty of kicking or attempting to kick the keeper in which case a DFK would be awarded.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney The FIFA training materials (provided by a mentor) say the keeper is considered to be in control of the ball by trapping it between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g., goal post, ground, own body) or by holding the ball in his outstretched open hand, as well as when he is bouncing it on the ground or throwing it up into the air. The same info, in less detail, is in Decision 2 under Fouls and Misconduct - Law 12. There was a time when the goalkeeper could be charged while in possession of the ball, but that resulted in some rather unfair practices, so it came to be that a GK in possession/control could not be challenged for the ball. This is especially important for referees to understand in the youth game and with less skilled players. Your call was correct and well reasoned, based on what you told us. Yes, the attacker will claim it was a fair play for the ball, but one has to wonder if he would feel the same way if it was his keeper who had the living daylights kicked out of him by an attacker "who had a fair chance at the ball"? Learning to watch and see when the GK has control and when she doesn't takes lots of practice and experience. Better to call it too close than too loose until one can feel the difference. Good job!
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Jay you can think of the keeper's hand "pinning" the ball to the ground, his leg, the goal post or anything else as him touching base just like a game of tag. Once he has the ball "pinned" to anything International FA Board decision 2 of Law 12 tells the referee he is in control of the ball. From there he can let it lay in the palm of his hand, throw it into the air, bounce it or just stand there and hold it for six seconds. After that he must release it into play. What you saw was the goalkeeper gaining control an instant before someone thought he played the ball there for the taking. Whistle and free kick to the keeper. Indirect or direct depending on your feelings about what happened.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18009
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 18112
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|