Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 18014

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/27/2007

RE: Indoor Rec Under 17

Tom W of Hartland, MI USA asks...

We had a referee call a hand ball on our goalie after making a save, in the goalie box. The call was made as the goalie bounce the ball to himself as he was moving to the edge of the box to continue play. At no time did the goalie leave the box.

The referee noted this was a FIFA ruling not an indoor rec rule.

Is this ruling correct ??

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Unfortunately the referee seems to have gotten this one wrong. Goalkeepers are allowed to bounce the ball within their alloted 6 seconds, and it is considered that the possession of the ball is continuous.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

I do hope if the keeper was called for a double touch in his own penalty area (please don't call it handling - this gives the impression it is a direct free kick offense, which it cannot be), the restart was an indirect free kick? Ref Voshol states it pretty clearly - FIFA directed referees to understand a keeper may bounce the ball or throw it up into the air and catch it again and still be considered to be in possession of the ball - which means it can't be the indirect free kick offense of picking up the ball again with his hands after releasing possession. Make sure the referee assignor hears about this, so the referee can receive retraining on this topic.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

I do not know what rules your indoor rec league have established to govern play in the facility you use. Find those rules out from the facility to find the answer you seek.

If this were outdoors, the referee should only punish the keeper for deliberately handling the ball if he uses his hands to deliberately touch the ball while it is completely outside the penalty area. It does not matter where he stands, or where body is. If the ball is not touching any part of the imaginary plane that is defined by the lines of the penalty area (or inside that) then the keeper may not touch the ball with his hands. If it is within that area, he may touch it. Again, body position is irrelevant.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

This most certainly is NOT a FIFA rule. Check and see if it's an indoor rec rule



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18014
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>