- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 18024Law 11 - Offside 11/28/2007RE: Select Under 16 Joe Iano of Seattle, WA USA asks...Attacker A stands in an offside position on the defender's side of the field, but close to the halfway line. One of A's teammates kicks a long ball toward the defending team's goal, over A and all other players except the defending keeper. There is now a race for the ball including attacker A (who was offside at the moment of the kick), a fellow onside attacker, two defenders, and the defending keeper who is coming off his line. As the AR, I run down field, even with the ball, waiting to see if attacker A becomes involved in play. As all of the above players converge on the ball, I decide A has become involved and raise my flag to signal offside. A shoots (after I raise my flag) and puts the ball in the goal. Center referee sees my flag, and recalls goal. Because of my delay in signaling offside, I am standing a good 30 yards from attacker A's original offside position.
Several referees with whom I discussed this incident have responded that I should not have delayed my offside signal, but should have decided A was involved as soon as he joined in the race for the ball.
How is involvement in play determined in such a circumstance?
As a follow-on, where is the IFK restart--where A was standing offside when the ball was kicked, or where I raised my flag?
Thanks! Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer You must wait to determine involvement because there is a player who is able to legally play the ball and if he does play should continue. Just because an offside positioned player is in a race doesn't mean he has interfered with an opponent and it is for sure he hasn't interfered with play or gained advantage. The restart of play is where he was when the ball was last touched or played by his team mate, near the halfway line. Signal as per Ref Voshol's instruction.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol You were correct to wait and see if A became involved in play. If A were the only attacker involved, you can flag earlier. But if his teammate has a chance to get to the ball, or if a defender might have a clean play on the ball, A has not yet become involved.
Once you determined that A is involved, you correctly raised the flag. The restart is way back near the half line, where A was when the sequence of play began. You move smartly back to that location, and then give the offside near/middle/far flag signal again. Players who are accustomed to lining up the free kick with the AR's position will have no problem getting your meaning.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Sounds to me as if you can give a training class to your fellow referees as to when to signal for offside. You did EXACTLY what FIFA has been hammering us all to do: wait until there is active involvement. Moreover, the specific incident where an onside and offside player are both going to the ball requires you waiting. Good job and well done. Hopefully the center got the restart position correct up near the center line where the player in offside position was when the ball was played
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18024
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 18045
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|