- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 18036Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/30/2007RE: Competitive Adult Bob of LA, CA USA asks...A penalty kick was called in a youth game. The referee told the kicker that he must start his run toward kicking the ball from within the box. (In other words he was not allowed to get a running start from outside the box.) Is this correct per FIFA? Thanks much. Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Bob Law 14 only requires the kicker be properly identified. It says players other than the kicker are located:
inside the field of play
outside the penalty area
behind the penalty mark
at least 9,15 m [10 yds] from the penalty mark
Perhaps the referee assumed the kicker must be inside the penalty area OR assumed the kicker could not be properly identified unless he was inside the penalty area. That is his right if it is his opinion regarding that fact connected with play. As long as he is consistent with the decision in all penalty kicks in the match players must treat it as a match condition just like they must a strong wind, rain or other thing.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Nothing in law, just a referee's personal match condition. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18036
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|