- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 18052Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/3/2007RE: High School john allen of crowley, tx usa asks...In one of our games a player chested the ball back to the keeper and the keeper picked it up. The AR & the REF said that it can only be a pass back if the defender uses his feet only and not a chest, knee, or anything else. I told him that only a header is not a deliberate pass back to keeper. Is this correct? Thanks
Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino No, the AR and the Referee were correct. It is only an infringement of law 12 if the ball is kicked directly to the goalkeeper from the foot. A ball played by the knee, chest, or head is permitted.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney The NFHS rules say "deliberately kicks the ball" to the keeper. A kick is only with the foot, so a defender can legally use any other part of their body (except their hands or arms) to get the ball to their keeper. The keeper can only keep it for 6 seconds after receiving it from a header, chest, knee, thigh or shin so what's the big deal?
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18052
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|