- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 18580Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/20/2008RE: Adult Daniel Martin of Redditch, uk asks...Last sunday i was in a wall defending a free kick i was the one to break from the wall and charge down the free kick. I went a little early as somtimes happens and blocked the free kick I was shown a yellow card straight away even though it was my first apttempt to block. Is this correct shold I have been booked so soon or at all? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Yes, the referee was correct. Failure to respect the requiered distance is a cautionable offense.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol This referee showed uncommon courage in making this call correctly. Far too many refs don't make the call, thus the surprise when it happens. A caution is a warning - a warning to the player not to do something like that again lest he be sent off.
Consider the opposite viewpoint. Would you like it if every opponent player (and subs after they come in) had to be warned before they could be cautioned? They could block 14 or so of your free kicks with no penalty except a retake. Does that sound fair?
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Absolutely correct call. You failed to give the required 10 yards.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Charging down a free kick is not permitted under Law 13. Those players opposing a free kick must allow it to be taken before moving nearer than the required distance. The booking is in accordance with the letter of the Law and the Spirit of the Game.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18580
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|