- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 18922Law 13 - Free Kicks 4/29/2008RE: Under 12 matt of liverpool, merseyside uk asks...If from a free kick the player plays the ball into his own net what is the restart,is the same restart applicable if the free kick is indirect and the keeper touches the ball before it enters the goal Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino The restart is a corner kick when no other player touches the ball. If the free kick is indirect, taken from outside the team's own penalty area, kicked toward his own goal, is touched by that teams keeper and goes into the goal, then the goal would count and the restart would be a kick-off.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If the free kick was located in the player's own penalty area and never left the penalty area before going directly into the goal, it would be a retake of the free kick.
If it was from outside the PA and it went in directly, it would be a corner kick for the opponents. If the goalkeeper deflects it first, it's no longer direct and the goal would count.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson No one can score on themselves directly and ANY free kick out from inside a player's own penalty area must clear the boundry lines to be in play so in these cases it will be a retake although this had better be a one time event as needlessly delaying a restart carries cautionable issues.
If the ball is outside the penalty area and on a free kick (DFK or INDFK ) or a throw-in the ball goes directly into the player's own goal it will be a corner kick for the opposition. Unfortunately if a keeper does try to stop any of the three restarts from directly entering his goal and fails after having made contact with the ball the restart is a kick off as the goal will count since the ball has NOT directly entered the goal! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino The restart is the same as if the player kicked it over his goal, a corner kick. It is well accepted that you cannot score upon yourself at any restart. If the keeper touches the ball before it goes into the goal it's a goal regardless if it's an indirect or direct free kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18922
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|