Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 19136

Law 13 - Free Kicks 5/19/2008

RE: Adult

Warren of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 18939

In Question 18939, Keith Contarino says "The keeper took a quick kick while the opponent was retreating. he forfeits the right to 10 yards. "

Is this a "keeping the spirit of the law" interpretation, or is it an explicit guideline in the USFA (or equivalent) guidelines ?

Couldn't it be argued that a team is entitled to take the free kick quickly knowing that if a close defender is struck then they are guaranteed a restart according to Law 13 ? Or would you call that "double-dipping" ?

Cheers,
Warren.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I would call that double dipping. The team may kick whenever it wants but then they can't claim the opponents werenot 10 yards. That said, the opponents cannot do anything to interfere with the kick even if it's taken quickly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It is per FIFA. See page 124 of the Laws of the Game, Additional Instructions and Guidance: "If a player decides to take a free kick quickly and an opponent who is less than 9.15 m from the ball intercepts it, the referee shall allow play to continue."



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

The team taking the kick cannot have it both ways. See both of my colleagues answers, they are correct.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19136
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>