Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 19282

Law 13 - Free Kicks 6/5/2008

Avery Haskell of Overland Park, KS USA asks...

On which restarts can you score on yourself?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Not from any of the restarts which require a throw or a kick. You can score on yourself (in a manner of speaking) from a dropped ball. It is unlikely - but possible if the dropped ball takes place in the penalty area or on the goal area line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The actual technical answer is "none of them".

Ref Maloney mentions the dropped ball as an exception to that rule. But the dropped ball is put into play by the referee, not a player, and it is in play when it hits the ground. After that, it's just the same as any other ball bouncing around on the ground - free game for anyone to go for and take a shot at either goal. So you either have to remember the dropped ball as an exception to the "no direct own goals" principle, or you have to remember it as an exception that the player isn't actually doing the restart. Either way, you just have to remember that it's the one weird restart.

Incidentally, in Law 8 for the kickoff and Law 14 for the penalty kick, it doesn't specifically say you can't score against yourself. That is one of those "presumed that everyone knows" things. Since the ball has to go forward on those kicks, it's very unlikely that a direct own goal could be scored anyway.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

That would be none of them. On a dropped ball the ball is put in play by the referee not the player so once your team kicks it it's NOT a restart as the ball was already in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19282
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>