- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 1965Law 10 - Method of Scoring Al Patrash of Livonia, MI USA asks...Regarding question 1956 - I have always BELIEVED that a referee MUST SEE the ball cross completely over the goal line and between the posts before he can award a goal. In question 1956 the awarding of a goal was based on an imprint on the ground. Anything could have made that imprint at anytime? It's not that I don't believe the referee when he says the imprint must have come from the play in question, it's simply that if no official SAW the ball pass completely over the goal line, how can a goal be awarded? You comments please...PS. I submitted this question twice but forgot to fill in who it was from the first time. Sorry. Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson OK, the most important thing is for the referees to get the call right. Both referees saw the ball hit the crossbar and bounce straight down, so it is not as if they didn't see the play. The only thing they are not sure about is whether the ball crossed wholely over the line. If the referee believes the imprint is enough evidence to suggest the ball was all the way over the line and awards a goal, I don't have a problem with that. It's not as if the referee clearly knew that no goal was scored and then later awarded a goal based on an imprint. The referee had no clue either way (and no help from the AR). The imprint gave the ref the only clue he had. Get the call right; that's the name of the game. I think the referee probably got the call right.
Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson
View Referee Victor Matheson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 1965
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 13121 See Question: 15103
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|