- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 19919Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/10/2008RE: REC Under 19 Bryan of San Jose, CA USa asks...In a game I was at tonight a referee called a foul on one of my players, the referee awarded an indirect free kick inside the box an for obstruction. When the play was restarted by the opposing team their player played the ball backwards then one of their players scored a goal. My question is two part can the ball be player backwards to start? I thought the ball had to progress (meaning forward, sideways) but not allowed to go backwards. And then can my player stand behind their player and if so do you still need to give 10 yards behind the player? Can you please point me to the law for this issue Best Regards, Bryan Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson No box, it is the 18 yard penalty area which also contains within it the 6 yard goal area If an ATTACKING INDFK is awarded for IMPEDING (it is no longer called obstruction) within the opposition's 6 yard goal area the restart location must be pulled straight back, 6 yards away on the goal area boundary parallel to the goal line. Anywhere inside the rest of the penalty area the INDFK is taken from the point of the infringement YES on the restart the ball can go backwards as on any free kick EXCEPT on PKS or kick offs where the ball must move forward. YES you as the defending must withdraw to ten yards in ALL DIRECTIONS including behind the ball The ten yard minimum distance in front of an INDFK restart that is within ten yards of the goal has this exception on the indfks that occur between 10 yards and the 6 yard goal area. Your defenders can actually line up under the crossbar and between the posts while standing ON the goal line itself . Thus ONLY in these rare free kick occasions can your players be closer to the ball than the ten yards NORMALLY required to a minimum distance of 6 yards and only standing on the goal line! 10 yards withdrawal is a MINIMUM DISTANCE all of the time. You still must be 10 yards away if you are NOT on the goal line under the crossbar Law 13 states on free kicks the ball is in play when it is kicked and moved it does not state direction except in the PK and kick off (FORWARD) and reaffirms law 16 guidelines that aside from a goal kick any defending free kick of a ball from inside the penalty area must completely exit the penalty area to be in play. It states the opposition must withdraw a MINIMUM ten yards from the restart point as well as comply with no opposition players inside the opposing team's penalty area on defending free kicks, nowhere does it state only one direction, it means in all directions! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino There is nothing anywhere in the LOTG requiring a ball to be kicked forwards in order to be in play except at a penalty kick and kick-off. Any other free kick is in play when the ball is kicked and moved. Your players are free to stand anywhere they want when you take a free kick. It is the opponent's that must be at least 10 yards from the ball and that includes every direction. The only time the opponents may be closer then 10 yards is if the IFK is awarded at a spot closer than 10 yards from the goal line in which case the wall may be placed ON the goal line in which case your players should not stand behind the wall.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19919
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|