- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 19934Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/13/2008RE: first grade Adult martin leedham of north nowra, nsw australia asks...if a ref blows the whistle and awards a indirect free kick (holding his arm in the air)then the ball goes into the back of the net , the linesmen holding the flag accross his chest is called onto the feild after talking to the linesman he awards the goal is the ref allowed to do this by doing so allowed the opposition to win the grand final martin Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson I am a bit unsure what are you are saying? Did the referee STOP play and award an indfk? An indirect kick CAN NOT go directly into the goal . There MUST be a second touch. A SMART keeper will NOT react to the ball directly entering the goal knowing it was indirect because a goal kick is the result. If the referee incorectly SIGNALED an INDFK and it was a DFK offence the kick is to be retaken. OR are you indicating the referee blew the whistle was indicating an indfk offence but the ball was crossing the goal line as he was signalling? Perhaps he was signalling a goal and confirming with the AR that no infringmet had occured before the ball had crossed the goal line? We have no knowledge of what the referee and AR talked about. For us to speculate on a motive is never going to happen A referee with integrity sees what he sees . Unfortunately here I am hesitant to confirm or deny anything but as my colleagues REf Volshol and REf Contarino points out the conversation could very well have been confirming a second touch occurred or even the offence was a DFK inside the PA and a penalty. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Perhaps the AR indicated to the referee that there was a second touch on the ball that the referee missed seeing. If the referee accepts this information, then the goal is valid. The referee has up until the time of the next restart to change his opinion.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I'm gathering from what you describe that the AR indicated to the referee that the kick should have been a DFK not the IFK the referee awarded. IF that's the case, the referee CANNOT arbitrarily decide to award a goal. He signaled for an indirect free kick. If he accepts that it should have been a direct free kick, the kick must be retaken as would only be fair. Or, as Ref Voshol suggested, perhaps the AR saw a first and second touch before the ball crossed over the goal line.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19934
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|