Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 19954

Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/15/2008

RE: Competitive Under 15

Greg of Kingsport, TN USA asks...

In my son's recent game, his keeper was called for handling a pass back from his own defender about 12 yards for the goal. An indirect free kick was given, and the kicker shot directly toward the goal. The keeper tried to save the shot, and it brushed his hands as it went in. Is this a goal? Does the ball have to touch a second player from the same (shooting) team on an indirect free kick before it counts as a goal, or can an opposing team member count as the 'second' player to touch the ball? The ref allowed the goal after some indecision and discussion with the assistant. Was that the correct decision?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The correct decision is to find a league with more experienced refs at U15. This is a basic decision; there should be no discussion over it. A player is a player is a player. There is no mention in Law 13 of which team the players are on, only that there be at least two of them touching the ball before it goes in the net. Goal counts.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

No the ball does not have to be touched by the same team that kicked it ANY player off any team. on an INDFK confirms the requirements. The discussion was likely the referee did not see the touch by the keeper and the AR did so was communicating this. At least I hope that was the discussion. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

There should have been no indecision on the part of the referees as this is clearly a goal. On an indirect free kick, the ball must touch ANY 2 players before a goal can be legally scored. Unfortunately, your keeper qualifies as 'any player'. Had the keeper not touched the ball, no goal and the restart would be a goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19954
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>