Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 19998

Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/19/2008

Keith Imhoff of unknown, unknown USA asks...

I got a question about an indirect kick. The ref gave the attracting team the ball on the smaller goal mouth box corner. The ball then was kicked off the crossbar/post. Is this still considered an indirect kick or should the ball have been handed over to the other team. No goal was scored. I don't think the ball was placed properly and I think that was a direct kick. Could you please help me with this?
What if the attacking player kicked it off the post then he followed up and kicked it into the goal. That would be a goal, correct?


Keith

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Keith, the only thing special about an indirect kick is that it must be touched by another player, not counting the kicker, before a goal can be scored. There is no special technique needed for a kick. We commonly see the ball nudged a small distance so the second touch can occur immediately after the first, but there is no requirement that this be done.

If the kick went directly into the opponent's goal without a second touch, play would be stopped and restarted with a goal kick coming out.

If the kick bounced off the goal and rebounded back to the kicker who touched it again, play would be stopped and restarted with an indirect free kick to the opponents, at the place the kicker touched the ball the second time. Any player taking a restart cannot play the ball twice in succession without it having touched another player. As I had to note to a coach a couple weeks ago, the goal isn't a player, is it?



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Keith. I'm having trouble understanding your question. An Indirect kick simply means a goal may not be scored unless the ball touches at least 2 players before entering the goal. If the kick bounces off the crossbar the original kicker may NOT kick it a second time as it has not touched another player. This would be a second touch and result in an indirect free kick for the opponents



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19998
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>