- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20083Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/27/2008RE: SELECT Under 14 Joe Sutter of St. LOUIS, MO USA asks...We recently had a game when a player for our team was taking a direct free kick from right outside the box. When she started to approach the ball to strike it a defender started to charge and was within the 10 yards allowed when the ball was struck. What should be the call as the referee said there was no problem with this. I have seen cards for this in the past and want to know what is the correct ruling. Thanks Joe Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Opponents must yield 10 yards in all directions from the site of a free kick. If they do not, they are to be cautioned. If the player encroached as the kick was taking place, the ref will see what happens. If the encroaching player touches the ball, play will be stopped, she will be cautioned, and the free kick will be retaken. If the encroaching player does not touch the ball, the ref may elect to allow play to continue with no caution - but the player should be spoken to at the next opportunity.
This is the 2nd paragraph from Advice to Referees, section 13.3: "If one or more opponents fail to respect the required distance before the ball is properly put into play, the referee should stop the restart to deal with this infringement as required by the Law. The free kick must be retaken even if the momentum of play causes the ball to be kicked before the referee signals. The infringement plus the referee's decision to deal with it cancel any apparent restart regardless of a delay in announcing the decision. However, referees are also expected to consider whether the infringement on the minimum distance was trifling (had no effect on the freedom of the attackers to restart) and, if so, to refrain from issuing a caution and to allow play to proceed."
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino At the moment the opponent started to charge your player before the kick was taken, the referee should have stopped play, cautioned this player for failing to give the REQUIRED 10 yards and shown the yellow card. He should have also verbally instructed said player NOT to do this again and then proceeded with the kick. Had the kick already taken place the referee may, depending on the result of the kick, allow play to continue but should at the least verbally warn the player
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20083
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|