- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20163Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/6/2008RE: Competitive Under 14 Todd of Rockford, IL USA asks...I was AR in a game where the defending team was awarded a direct free kick from within their own penalty area. one of the defenders took the kick and kicked the ball almost straight sideways to the keeper (still inside the penalty area) where the keeper then kicks the ball up field. CR blows the whistle and awards the attacking team an indirect free kick at the spot the keeper kicked the ball. Of course, the defending team's coach goes bezerk and starts yelling at the CR and asking what is going on - saying it was not a goal kick and the ball is not required to leave the area. As a newer referee (who shamefully has not read and studied the laws of the game as much as he should - but now will) agrees with the coach (not verbally, but in my mind), but does or says nothing figuring the CR knew what he was doing and calling, and not quit sure myself what was going on since this was on the other end of the field from my vantage point. After the game, I glanced through my Laws of the Game book and found the refernce to this sort of situation - Law 13 - free kick for the defending team inside their own penalty area must leave the area to be in play (assumingly the same as if it were a goal kick). However, I did not see where it stated what the correct restart is. Since the language in Law 13 states the ball must leave the penalty area before it is in play, I would assume the restart is a re-kick. However, the CR awarded the attacking team the free kick at the point the keeper touched the ball. I have two questions in regards to this... 1) what is the correct re-start? 2) as an AR, if I had known the letter of the Law, as I very well should (I know, I know - shame on me - lesson learned) what is my responsibility in informing the CR that he is making an incorrect call if indeed the correct restart is a re-kick? I am assuming I should at least get his attention and inform him that the ball was not in play and therefore it should be a re-kick and not a free kick to the other team - then it is up to the CR whether or not to accept my comments or not??? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson This is a straightforward issue that referees often forget even those at it a while because it is tucked away as an occasional event. ANY defending free kick coming out of the penalty area, goal kick indfk or dfk all opponents must be outside the penalty area as well as a minimum ten yards away AND the ball is unplayable by either team until it completely clears the area. The correct restart is a retake and a gentle reminder not to do that. The AR MUST communicate the correct knowledge to the referee before the misapplied restart of play. Eye contact, call his name wave him over, hit him on the head with your flag if need be. These things should be covered in pre-game. The referee can of course choose to ignore it because he is clueless or thank the AR for reminding him of the CORRECT restart and saving him from embarrassment and ridicule at the inquiry. The coach who complains the awarding of the indfk has a right to be upset as it is a misapplication of law and PROTESTABLE. That said being upset at a stupid decision and verbalizing and acting upset is another matter that strains the responsible behavior code coaches are to follow. Then stating more stupid stuff compounds the stupidity into idiocy and look what misinformation we have! THE BALL MUST LEAVE the PENALTY AREA the SAME as a GOAL KICK the fact it is not a goal kick is not relevant. What is relevant be it INDFK or DFK is offside applies to the first touch of the ball THAT is the difference between the free kick and goal kick, that and perhaps the location of the kick itself might not be out of the goal area. The ONLY restart for a ball that is played prior to it leaving the penalty area is a RETAKE since the restart has not yet occurred to put the ball in play. Now a verbal warning works in cases of forgetfulness or if the referee considered the intrusion as marginal trifling or doubtful but if repetitive and/or if tactical, then the act becomes USB and cautionable show a yellow card to the culprit.
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino This is such a simple thing it baffles me when referees get it wrong. Of course, the coach also was wrong. What the coach should have said is 'it never left the penalty area it's a retake'. ALL kicks leaving the penalty area must clear the penalty area before they are in play and before the ball may be played. Period. The ball didn't leave the penalty area. the keeper played the ball before it left the penalty area. retake the kick. Simple. Where in the world this referee came up with an IFK is beyond me but is blatantly wrong.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol I have come across this issue several times in recent weeks. After one of them, my AR said, 'I learned something today.' Well, good for him. I just wonder why so few people know it in the first place. Everyone seems to know a goal kick has to clear the penalty area before it is in play. Why don't they know the same thing applies for all outbound free kicks, especially since Law 13 uses the same words as Law 16? The referee may have had a brain-fart about the restart. There was one time in a game where the player taking a goal kick moved forward as if to touch it a second time. As he's doing that, I'm trying to remember what the remedy is if he does - is it a retake of the goal kick, or an IFK inbound for the 2nd touch? Luckily for me the player didn't get to the ball, and I was able to look it up after the game. From then on, I have managed to remember that the kick should have been retaken. Perhaps this incident will make a permanent memory for your referee, especially if you inform him about your discovery in Law 13.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20163
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|