Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20333

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/22/2008

RE: 7 Adult

matthew slater of devon, devon uk asks...

just wanting to confirm a couple of things really.
Firstly, am i correct in saying that you can not score an OWN GOAL from a direct and indirect free kick.
Secondly, the ball has to leave the penalty area before it can be touched by either team from goal kicks and all other free kicks taken by the defending team from the penalty area. Correct or not?

thanks

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Firstly, you are correct.

Secondly, you are correct insofar as the ball is not yet in play and the kick would be retaken. In theory... it could be touched without some sort of free kick awarded BUT it could result in a caution for delaying the restart of play, so you are basically correct.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Firstly, all the answers to your questions are readily found in the Laws of the Game. Look to Pages 28, 34 & 35 in the 2007/2008 published version on the USSF website or look at the 2008/2009 version published at the FIFA site: http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affederation/federation/81/42/36/lotg_en_55753.pdf

Question 1: A team cannot score directly on themselves from a restart, except from a dropped ball. On any indirect free kick restart, the ball must be touched by another player before it can score, so one can never score against oneself directly from an indirect free kick (that would be the indirect part - grin).

Question 2: As Laws 13 & 16 clearly state, the ball must be kicked beyond the penalty area for a direct, indirect or goal kick to be in play. If it is not kicked beyond the PA, the kick is taken again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20333
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>