Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20399

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/29/2008

RE: competitive Under 19

Jay Dreves of Arcadia, CA USA asks...

I was AR on a game where the CR was being assessed. The field that we were on had a sprinkler problem prior to the game, which caused the field to be muddy on one end.
On the muddy end of the field an attacker is dribbling the ball just inside the penalty area, the ball moves to the left just out of reach of the attacker and the defender reaches out with his leg making contact with the attackers foot. Attacker trips and goes down in the penalty area. The CR blows the whistle and extends his hand straight up indicating an IDFK. I immediately wave my flag to get CR's attention. I told him what I saw was that the attacker was fouled in the penalty area and it should be a penalty kick. CR tells me that the field was wet and that the defender didn't really intend to trip the attacker so he indicated an IDFK. I explained that the attacker might have been able to get a shot off if he had not been tripped. I convinced the CR that he should award a PK. PK was given and goal was scored.
After the game the assessor had asked about the play and actually said that both ways would have been an acceptable restart. I don't understand this, as a penal foul was committed in the penalty area. Wouldn't a non-call be better in this situation?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Inventive referee, with an inventive assessor as an accomplice. Gotta love it. (NOT)

Ask the referee just which offense he was about to punish with the indirect kick. I suspect he'd weasel out and come up with dangerous play. Since contact was made, it cannot be playing in a dangerous manner.

You are correct, a DFK foul was committed so the DFK in the penalty area becomes a PK. Either the offense happened and the only available restart is a PK, or the offense was trifling and there should have been no foul called.

Did you consider whether the action denied an obvious goal-scoring opportunity?



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The assessor's comments,if accurate, make no sense nor does the comment by the CR. A referee may not turn a direct kick foul into an indirect kick foul for any reason. If the CR felt the muddy field was the cause of the action by the defender then a no call would have been appropriate as was your call of a trip or kick. If the CR was trying to take the cowardly way out not wanting to award a PK he should have said he was punishing PIADM, although with the contact that too would be a wrong call. But there is no way a direct kick foul can be downgraded to an IDFK. What on earth was the assessor thinking?



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Articulate as always my colleagues have asked the crucial question who is the assessor that says such things? If the offence is a DFK foul it is a DFK!

For the contact to be judged as inadvertent say the defender had fallen and had no idea of the whereabouts of the attacker and as he was picking the mud from his eyes he arose or fell into the path of the opponent who then fell over him as no foul is present no call is made .If you think the field was unplayable b due to the condition of the pitch then do not play but you do not alter the laws to compensate. Players must adapt to the conditions.

You clearly state all the components for a PK foul, he clearly tripped the opponent, it clearly was a DFK inside the penalty area, it clearly was during active play AND it clearly stopped him from being able to shoot on goal, which the DOGSO criteria arise to be considered
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20399
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>