- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20567Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/21/2008RE: High School kim of middleville, MI USa asks...This question is a follow up to question 20562 Thanks for the answer...I wasn't GOTCHA...I was asking for a simple clarification of the answer you guys gave. Again, Eric, (who I have reffed with)was asking about IFK and DFK in the penalty area. It wasn't obvious to me that he inferred outbound kicks only by the defender only... I enjoy reading the answers you guys give to Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Kim, please. Eric specifically said in his question the IFK or DFK (DFK impossible unless coming OUT of the penalty area) was not a goal kick. Now why on earth would he go to the trouble of mentioning a DFK and a goal kick if the free kick inside the penalty area was NOT coming out of the penalty area? Furthermore, he asks, since this is not a goal kick does the ball have to leave the penalty area before it is in play. Now, does it make any sense at all that this could even remotely refer to an IDFK to the attackers? has anyone, anywhere EVER asked, implied, or imagined that an IDFK to the attackers inside the penalty area would have to leave the penalty area before it was in play? Eric surely knew, as I suspect you did also, that he was referring to kicks leaving the penalty area. You even again refer now about a DFK in the penalty area which is by definition impossible unless leaving the penalty area or it would be a penalty kick
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson If you are 100% clear then our efforts are not in vain. We sometimes come across as gruff or irritated but our intention is to make you fully aware of the correct proccedures and the importance of correct decisions. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20567
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|