- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20621Law 13 - Free Kicks 12/2/2008RE: Select Under 14 Todd Wendorf of Camp Hill, PA US asks...This question is a follow up to question 20581 In a recreational U15 match...using a /*cringe*/ NFHS two-referee system (I could rail about this for days...), I was the 'trailing' referee on the opposite side of the field. A free kick was awarded and the defending team put a player in front of the ball. I resolved this simply by firmly announcing 'Honor the ten yards, Blue!'. The blue team then retreated back to their position and play continued without a ceremonial kick. Of course, after the match, the Blue coach gave me the 'They have to ask for 10' speech. I explained that it was a free kick for the 'Yellow' team and that the defending team (his team) was required to retreat 10 yards without being told. I also explained that specific wording was in the LOTG that deemed encroachment on a free kick as a cautionable offense. Since that instruction, the Blue coach has no longer placed a player on the ball on free kicks. Sometimes just a well placed firm announcement is enough to fix the situation. Honestly, my biggest disappointment in the matter was that the referee standing 10 yards from the free kick was not going to enforce the 10 yard retreat. This was a different discussion after the match. Once again, panel, you reinforce everything that is taught at the clinics and is spelled out in the LOTG. You do make a referee's life easier... Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino You could rail but you CHOSE to involve yourself in this banned by FIFA and USSF 2-man system. Anyway, that's beside the point. You handled the Blue player the way you wanted to which was fine and got the result you wanted. To me, a U 14 Select player should be cautioned for what you describe, but that's just me. I am happy you educated the coach AFTER the game and that he no longer teaches his players to not honor the 10 yards. Now your assignment is to educate the other referee who apparently doesn't understand law 13 as well as you do!
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20621
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|