- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20782Law 13 - Free Kicks 1/31/2009RE: Pro Professional Sean Brophy of SLough, UK asks...I was watching the premier league this weekend and James Milner had an indirect free kick in the box for of course a backpass picked up by the keeper. If James was to strike it (without it being touched to him) and hit a defender and scores does this class as a goal? or must one other team mate touch it. it is a debate i had with my father with both us believing we are correct. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Sean , ANY of the 21 other players make contact with the ball after Milner kicked it on is way into goal we have the needed second touch for a legitamate good goal. So the one who said either team gets a touch gets the blue ribbon! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Indirect means the ball must touch a second player before a goal may be scored. Here is what Law 13 says about indirect kicks and scoring a goal; Ball Enters the Goal A goal can be scored only if the ball subsequently touches another player before it enters the goal: Law 13 does NOT state the player must be a teammate. In your example, a legal goal would be scored
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol And always remember, goalkeepers are players too.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20782
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|