- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20863Law 13 - Free Kicks 2/18/2009RE: Rec, Select, NFHS High School Joe Griego of Bishop, CA U.S.A. asks...I was assistant at an NFHS match two weeks ago, when this situation came up: Attacker makes a shot that goes just wide of the goal. Keeper lunges full stretch, gets ball, keeps it in bounds, and stands up. She is obviously new at this, as she walks forward to the goal area line, puts the ball on the corner of the goal area, and backs up as if to make a goal kick. I'm standing there aligned with the ball, wondering if the other team will take advantage of this rookie mistake. They do, and an attacker runs toward the ball to score. The keeper then picks up the ball. My flag goes up, CR blows whistle, IFK. This is my question. This is a CR who has done this for decades, but he set up the IFK in a strange way. He put the ball back on the line, and told the defending girls that they could stand 'halfway between the ball and the goal.' I know that the ball should have been placed just outside the 6-yard box at the nearest point to the infraction, parallel to the goal line. That means off the line so no part is over the goal box line, right? Also, I've never heard of the 'halfway between the ball and the goal' set-up. It should have been '10 yards, or on the goal line' for defenders, correct? That is, since defenders cannot back up more than 10 yards, they are allowed to stand on the goal line to defend, and since the far side of the goal is slightly beyond 10 yards, they may step off the goal line into a standard 10-yard arc from the ball. Because I really respect this long-time referee (he's from Germany, and has been refereeing NFHS games for decades), I was wondering if maybe this is an old FIFA law that has since been rescinded? I hate to think he just flat out made that up, but I'm not sure where he may have gotten that 'halfway between ball and goal' thing, as I've never heard of it. Thanks, Joe Griego Bishop, CA Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I doubt even in US High SChool do such rules apply. First, you are incorrect as to where the IFK takes place. It's from the place where the keeper picked up the ball. Unless, she picked it up inside the goal area in which case it's from the 6 yard line not outside it as you suggest. What this referee has come up with regarding where the defenders may stand is baffling. You are correct in that they may make a wall on the goal line but it must be between the goal posts. They have to be 10 yards from the kick unless the kick is closer than 10 yards in which case they are on the goal line. Not only is there no half way between the ball and goal rule, the referee has no business even suggesting where the defenders stand unless the team taking the kick asks for a wall or for some other reason the referee has to make the kick ceremonial. He should do nothing to prohibit the team taking the kick from taking a quick kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Perhaps you both suffer from CRS 'cause there are holes in what both of you did/believe. The referee did a boo-boo, he has something stuck in his head that shouldn't be there or he put it there 'cause he Can't Remember S... You, I'm sad to say have something a bit off as well. First the ball is placed on the goal area line nearest where the infraction occurred. Second is you forgot what Law/Rule 13 says about where opponents can be. On the goal line BETWEEN the goal posts! Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol You seem to have conflated the procedures for a goalkeeper who carries the ball out of the penalty area the those regarding the position of the ball for inbound indirect free kicks. For IFK offenses that happen inside the goal area, the ball is moved to the 6 yard line. When the goalkeeper carries the ball outside the PA, the ball is placed outside the PA line, because the handling offense happens outside the PA. Still, that little half-ball-width placement issue is minor compared to your center's interpretation of where the players may stand. Sounds like he's confused with pointyball 'half the distance to the goal' penalties.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino You're right. He was wrong. Perhaps you could share these things with him in a polite way so he will know for the next time. Good job knowing the rules (as you should). Perhaps call him over and discuss the situation with him during the match, so only the two of you can hear in order to get it right.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Best take this as a learning experience and be sure the correct information makes its way to those who need it! The ball was live and in play whether or not the keeper felt it wasn't! So far you as AR flagging and the referee in awarding an indfk for the second touch is correct. Keeper learns the oops factor. The way the indfk occurs though is fraught with misapplication and protestable conduct! This is not like a DFK where a keeper carries the ball outside the 18 yard penalty area and the ball is in fact set just off the line outside the leading curved edge of the ball When the keeper reached down to that 2nd touch, if the ball was located inside the goal area or on the goal area line, the indfk in fact does rest ON the goal area line that runs parallel to the actual goal line. If the ball was resting just outside the goal area boundary line inside the penalty area that is in fact the spot of the infringement as this was not a goal kick anyway. When an INDFK occurs closer than 10 yards to the goal or inside the 6 yard goal area in favour of the attack inside the defending penalty area there is a SPECIAL exception to the 10 yard withdrawal that is mandatory on free kicks. It is always possible for the defenders to stand ON their goal line UNDER the crossbar and BETWEEN the posts! Thus it is possible the wall is 6 yards away from the ball location. This is where the hands in protective mode should be covering head chest and crotch as many attackers will simply haul off and pound the ball off a defender into the goal to count as the needed second touch of the ball by ANY player. I personally will not allow the defending wall to link arms as I believe it widens the arms to cover more of the goal in a deliberate fashion. While a neutral official need not interfere unnecessarily at the taking of a free kick, I personally will usually restart ceremonially in these cases as there is often confusion. In my opinion a scoring opportunity created out of nothing hardly deserves the same quick kick consideration as a foul or more obvious transgression. This is obviously an extraordinary circumstances rather than a deliberate attempt to thwart the opposition from a legitimate opportunity to shoot on the goal. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20863
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 20871
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|